International Institute for Indigenous Resource Management
Third Annual Tribal Energy Policy Roundtable
Tribal Energy Policy: Climate and Technology Challenges

March 18-20, 2008
Denver, Colorado, U.S.A.

Participant List

John R. Ballard
Tribal Planner
Modoc Tribe of Oklahoma
418 G Street SE
Miami, OK 74354
918-542-1190; FAX 918-542-5415
johnballard@cableone.net

Moroni Benally
Policy Analyst
Dine Policy Institute, Dine College
P.O. Box 96
Tsaile, AZ 86556
928-724-6946; FAX: 928-724-6837
mtbenally@dinecollege.edu

T.M. Bull Bennett, Ph.D.
North Dakota Association of Tribal Colleges
919 S 7th St, Suite 205
Bismarck, ND 58504-5843
701-223-4100; FAX: 701-223-4140
bbennett@ndatc.org

Seth T. Calkins, CSP
Suncor Energy ( U.S.A. ) Inc.
5801 Brighton Boulevard
Commerce City, CO 80222
303-286-5897: FAX: 720-322-2521
SCalkins@Suncor.com

David Conrad
Director of Government Affairs
Osage Nation
627 Grandview Avenue
Pawhuska, OK 74056
918-287-5555; FAX: 918-287-5562
dconrad@osagetribe.org

John E. Echohawk
Executive Director
Native American Rights Fund
1506 Broadway
Boulder, CO 80302
303-447-8760; FAX: 303-443-7776
jechohwk@narf.org

Claire Laura Evans
Law Student & IIIRM Intern
University of Denver
Denver, CO
970-409-8220
cevans09@law.du.edu

Kade Ferris
Native American Specialist
SWCA Environmental Consultants
295 Interlocken Blvd, Suite 300
Broomfield, CO 80021
303-487-1183; FAX: 303-487-1245
kferris@swca.com

Glenn Ford
Member
Tribal Business Council
Spokane Tribe of Indians
P.O. Box 100
Wellpinit, WA 99040
509-458-6512; FAX: 509-458-6553
glennf@spokanetribe.com

Roger Fragua
Cota
Denver, CO
720-220-7720; FAX: 720-220-7720
rogerfragua@gmail.com

Martina Gauthier
President
Native American Law Students Association
University of Denver
10789 Roseanna Drive
Northglenn, CO 80234
303-439-9163
mgauthier07@law.du.edu

Stuart Harris
Director
Department of Science and Engineering
Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
P.O. Box 638
Pendleton, OR 97801
541-966-2408: FAX: 541-278-5380
stuartharris@ctuir.com

Bennie Hoisington
Project Administrator
Dine' Power Authority - Navajo Nation Enterprise
P. O. Box 3239
Window Rock, AZ 86515
928-871-2260; FAX: 928-871-4046
dpabenh@citlink.net

Richard Holman, CPT
Manager
Energy Workforce Initiatives
Idaho National Laboratory
P.O. Box 1625, MS 3898
Idaho Falls, ID 83415
208-520-0698
richard.holman@inl.gov

Franky Jackson
Tribal Liaison/Cultural Resource Specialist
SWCA Environmental Consultants
295 Interlocken Blvd, Suite 300
Broomfield, CO 80021
303-487-1183; FAX: 303-487-1245
Fjackson@swca.com

Wendell Jim
Tribal Council Member
Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs
P.O. Box 1299
Warm Springs, OR 97761
541-553-3591
wjim@wstribes.org

A. David Lester
Executive Director
Council of Energy Resource Tribes
695 South Colorado Boulevard, Suite 10
Denver, CO 80246
303-282-7576 ext 11; FAX: 303-282-7584
adlester@certredearth.com

Patricia Nelson Limerick
Professor
Center of the American West
University of Colorado
Campus Box 234
Boulder, CO 80309
303-735-0104; FAX: 303-492-1671
limerick@colorado.edu

Mari Angeles Major-Sosias
Director, Strategy
AREVA
One Bethesda Center
4800 Hampden Lane
Bethesda, MD 20814
301-841-1692; FAX: 301-841-1619
mariangeles.major-sosias@areva.com

Shannon McNeeley
Visiting Scientist
Institute for the Study of Society and Environment
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Boulder, CO 80301
smcneele@mail.ucar.edu

Rajul Pandya
Director of Outreach
DLESE Program Center (DPC)
National Center for Atmospheric Research
3300 Mitchell Lane
Boulder, CO 80301
303-497-2650; FAX: 303-497-8336
pandya@ucar.edu

Jo Render
Manager
Newmont Mining Corporation
1700 Lincoln Street, Suite 3700
Denver, CO 80203
303-837-5883; FAX: 303-837-5837
jo.render@newmont.com

Caitlin Rood
Sustainability Engineer
Tetra Tech
950 17th Street, Suite 2200
Denver, CO 80202
303-312-8880; FAX: 303-295-2818
caitlin.rood@tetratech.com

Jeanne M. Rubin
General Counsel
International Institute for Indigenous Resource Management
444 South Emerson Street
Denver, CO 80209
303-733-0481; FAX: 303-744-9808
jeannerubin@iiirm.org; Website: www.iiirm.org

Karen P. Smith
Program Manager
Argonne National Laboratory
200 Union Blvd., Suite 530
Lakewood, CO 80228
303-986-1140, x267; FAX: 303-986-1311
smithk@anl.gov

Robin Smith
U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
12300 West Dakota Avenue, Suite 310
Lakewood, CO 80228-25830
720-963-3072

Mervyn L. Tano
President
International Institute for Indigenous Resource
Management
444 South Emerson Street
Denver, CO 80209-2216
hone: 303-733-0481 , FAX: 303-744-9808
mervtano@iiirm.org; Website: www.iiirm.org

Roger Taylor
Manager
Tribal Energy Programs
National Renewable Energy Lab
1617 Cole Blvd.
Golden, CO 80401
303-384-7389; FAX: 303-384-7419
roger_taylor@nrel.gov

Brandy Kanani Michelle Toelupe
Law Student & IIIRM Intern
University of Denver
1859 South Jackson Street
Denver, CO 80210
319-325-5414
btripp09@law.du.edu

John C. Topping, Jr.
President
Climate Institute
1785 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20036-2117
202-547-0104; FAX: 202-547-0111
jtopping@climate.org

Linda Sue Warner, Ph.D.
President
Haskell Indian Nations University
155 Indian Avenue
Lawrence, KS 66046
785-749-8497, ext. 407

Frederick H. White
Deputy Director
Navajo Nation
Division of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 9000
Window Rock, AZ 86515-9000
928-871-6592; FAX: 928-871-7040
frederickhwhite@frontiernet.net

Daniel Wildcat, Ph.D.
Professor
Haskell Indian Nations University
155 Indian Avenue
Lawrence, KS 66046
785-832-6677; FAX: 785-832-6613
dwildcat@sunflower.com